Sabina (Brazilian Girls) Debut Solo LP

Sabina (Brazilian Girls) Debut Solo LP

SABINA debut solo album ‘Toujours’ released 24th March on Naim Edge Records
Stream Viva L’amour taken from the LP (below).

The singer of avant-garde electro-punk outfit Brazilian Girls, Sabina Sciubba is a multi-lingual artist whose music transcends both space and time. Across no less than five different languages, her straight talking debut solo album Toujours is a compelling, intimate, narcotic dreamscape you might call The Parisienne Velvet Underground and Nico, with a surprising sense of humour.

Cut from the same rebellious cloth as other uncompromising femme fatales Patti Smith or Madonna, whilst channelling the visual impact of Grace Jones and Bjork (one billowing outfit appeared to be a ventilation shaft, made of crepe), she is a fearless woman, whose passion for speaking her mind – in German, Italian, French, Spanish, and English – only enhances her sophisticated lo-fi pop music.

Born in Rome to German and Italian parents, raised in Munich and Nice, and discovered in Hamburg at age 19 by virtuoso guitarist Antonio Foricone before relocating to New York to lend her stunningly sultry vocals to Brazilian Girls (incidentally one girl – Sciubba – and no Brazilians), the new album was written on guitars in Paris and has found Sciubba reunited with Brazilian Girls producer Frederick Rubens.

Toujours Tracklist:
01. Cinema
02. Viva L’Amour
03. Long Distance Love
04. Mystery River
05. The Sun
06. Non Mi Aspettare
07. Toujours
08. Tabarly
09. Sailor’s Daughter
10. Fields of Snow
11. Won’t Let You Break Me
12. Going Home

Listen to ‘Viva L’Amour’

Previous post
Glass Animals / Announce Oxford Show Curated by Colin Greenwood
Next post

Sabina (Brazilian Girls) Debut Solo LP