Silverchair – "Frogstomp 20th Anniversary" Sony

Silverchair – "Frogstomp 20th Anniversary" Sony



Released on June 15th via Sony Music

Australian alt-rockers Silverchair, are proud to announce the release of the 20th Anniversary Remastered Edition of their history-making debut album Frogstomp. The album will be re-released as a 2CD deluxe set on June 15th 2015 via Sony Music.

Formed in the industrial town of Newcastle at the age of just 14, Silverchair (Daniel Johns, guitars and vocals;Ben Gillies, drums; Chris Joannou, bass) saw their debut single ‘Tomorrow’ become Australia’s number one song on October 24th 1994. The track went on to remain at the top of the ARIA Singles Chart for the next six weeks.

Then in April 1995, Frogstomp became the first debut album by an Australian artist to enter the national ARIA Album Chart at number one – the first of five #1 albums for the band. Within a week of release Frogstomp was certified Platinum and remained in the top position on the ARIA charts for the next three weeks. During that time the album was certified Double Platinum and has now gone on to become certified 5 x Platinum, an incredible feat for a debut album.

Frogstomp also earned the band their first 5 ARIA Awards. Over their career Silverchair received a total of 19 ARIA Awards throughout their career, which is more than any other Australian artist in history.

The massive success story continued internationally when Frogstomp was released in the United States, peaking at no.9 on the US Billboard Top 200 Albums and remaining on the chart for an astounding 49 weeks, ultimately going Double Platinum and selling over 2 million copies.

“These young Aussies are masters of sonic sculpture”, wrote Musician Magazine at the time, “deftly using feedback and distortion to build vast cathedrals of sound of their barre-chord riffs and lean, catchy choruses”.

Frogstomp remains a stunning debut album, having sold over four million copies to date worldwide, and remains an early indication of the even greater success yet to come for these fine young Australian musicians.

Track Listing:

CD1 / Vinyl / Digital /Deluxe Edition

Original remastered album

1. Israel’s Son

2. Tomorrow

3. Faultline

4. Pure Massacre

5. Shade

6. Leave Me Out

7. Suicidal Dream

8. Madman

9. Undecided

10, Cicada

11. Findaway



1. Tomorrow                          from Tomorrow EP

2. Acid Rain                            from Tomorrow EP

3. Blind                                   from Tomorrow EP

4. Stoned                                from Tomorrow EP

5. Madman                            vocal version

6. Madman                            Live At The Cambridge

7. Blind                                   Live At The Cambridge

8. Tomorrow                          Live At The Cambridge

9. Faultline                             Live At The Cambridge

10. Pure Massacre                Live At The Cambridge

For further information contact Chris Dean at Wilful Publicity

Previous post
Glastonbury 2015 Full Line-Up And Stage Times
Next post
Dead Rider announce European tour dates this June

Silverchair – "Frogstomp 20th Anniversary" Sony