Sleepy Sun Live: UK Dates: April 2014

Sleepy Sun Live: UK Dates: April 2014

Album: Maui Tears Release Date: 17th March 2014
Praise for 2012’s ‘Spine Hits’
“A tender triumph’ – Clash Magazine
“Classic… A killer set of rock songs” –The Times 4/5
“A band that just keeps getting better and better” – Artrocker 5/5

Sleepy Sun are set to brace our UK shores with a 5 date headline tour this April.

Sleepy Sun will be touring in support of their 4th studio album, through Dine Alone Records, released on March 17th 2014. ‘Maui Tears’ is their first studio album since 2012’s critically acclaimed ‘Spine Hits’

Video to lead single ‘The Lane’

‘Maui Tears’ takes you on a spaced-out psych-rock journey from the moment album opener and lead single ‘The Lane’ kicks in to its hypnotic guitar laden and eerie vocals, to the anthemic melancholy  ‘Words’ and the dreamy opus that is ‘Everywhere Waltz’. The Flaming Lips esque ‘Galaxy Punk’ and the heavy-guitar crunching ’11:32’ shows a band that are at the height of their creative abilities and cements, that Sleepy Sun drink from the same well of invention as their peers The Verve, The Brian Jonestown Massacre and The Velvet Underground.

Sleepy Sun formed as Mania in 2005 at UC Santa Cruz but turned away from their garage rock styling’s and developed a more psychedelic approach to song writing. The band changed their name to Sleepy Sun in 2007, releasing their first album ‘Embrace’ in 2009. Since then the bands creative output has been more than consistent releasing a further 2 albums (2010’s ‘Fever’ and 2012’s ‘Spine Hits’) over the next 2 years.

Over the years Sleepy Sun have developed a steady fan base with their unique style of psych-rock which is fused together by the dovetailed fuzz riffage of guitarists Matt Holliman and Evan Reiss, the blessed pipes of vocalist Bret Constantino that are alternately bristle with attitude and drowsy ease and the seamless collision of fluid science drawn up by the rhythm section of Brian Tice and Jack Allen.
The band have toured with the Arctic Monkeys and collaborated with the British trip-hop legends UNKLE.

UK Dates:
4/14/2014 Brighton, The Hope
4/15/2014 London, Corsica Studios
4/16/2014 Manchester, Deaf Institute
4/17/2014 Glasgow, Broadcast
4/18/2014 Sheffield, Detestival

Sleepy Sun are Bret Constantino (Vocals), Matt Holliman (Guitars), Evan Reiss (Guitars), Jack Allen (Bass), Brian Tice (Drums)

‘Maui Tears’ is released through Dine Alone Records on March 31st 2014.
International Marketing & Promotion powered by International Solutions

Previous post
Tokyo Police Club share 'Hot Tonight' video
Next post
Trophy Scars Announce New Album Holy Vacants

Sleepy Sun Live: UK Dates: April 2014