Reverend & The Makers Confirm Twelve Date UK Tour

Reverend & The Makers Confirm Twelve Date UK Tour

New Album & Film MIRRORS(9th October)

“So I’m listening to ‘Mirrors’ for the 1st time and I’m about 15 minutes in when it dawns on me that this is like something that sounds like nothing I’ve heard since the great concept albums of the 60’s…It’s at that point that I may have sh*t in my smoking jacket! (in fact I think I did actually sh*t in my Fez!!). Sh*t title though eh?”

(Noel Gallagher)

“You can always rely on the Reverend for a volley of lyrical grenades, but ‘Mirrors’ is a magnum opus. He’s a seasoned melodic master too. Just what we needed from Reverend & The Makers.”

(Carl Barât)


BLACK WIDOW(Premiering tonight on BBC 6 Music Steve Lamacq Show)





Reverend & The Makers release their eagerly anticipated fifth album, Mirrors, through Cooking Vinyl, on Friday 9th October. The first song to be taken from the album, Black Widow, is available from midnight tonight upon preordering Mirrors:


Mirrors was recorded at 2 Fly Studios Sheffield and Geejam Studios in Jamaica and was produced by Dave Sanderson with additional production by Youth and Alan Smyth and mixed by Youth. It will be available on CD, Limited edition CD & DVD, 12” Vinyl and digital download. The album can be pre-ordered from the bands website:  and iTunes:


The special CD & DVD version of Mirrors is available with a film by acclaimed director Roger Sargent, filmed in Jamaica to accompany each song on the album. All formats of the album also include an exclusive twenty-three minute dub version of Mirrors (Overproof Dub by Youth) and bonus radio versions of three of the album tracks.


Reverend & The Makers have also announced a twelve-date UK tour for November and December. Tickets go on sale at 9am on Friday 7th August. The full dates are:



FRI       13th      Manchester                   Ritz

SAT      14th      Sheffield                       Academy

MON     16th      Wolverhampton             Wulfurn

TUE      17th      Portsmouth                   Wedgwood Rooms

Wed     18th      London                         Koko

FRI       20th      Leeds                           Stylus

SAT      21st      Liverpool                      Academy 1

SUN     22nd     Glasgow                       King Tuts

WED    25th      Newcastle                     Riverside

THU      26th      Bristol                           Bierkeller

FRI       27th      Lowestoft                     Aquarium


THU      3rd       Nottingham                   Rock City


To coincide with the release of Mirrors singer Jon McClure releases a book of his lyrics and poetry, illustrated by Horace Panter from the Specials, The Lyrics and Poetry of Jon McClure with Illustrations by Horace Panter.


The book features every lyric from Reverend & The Makers as well as poems including Jon McClure’s collaboration with John Cooper Clarke. An exclusive sample of the book is available from the bands webstore when you preorder Mirrors:


Jon McClure adds “Ed (guitarist and fellow songwriter) and I became resolute to make a record that we loved. Why not indulge the overwhelming urge to not play games anymore and set about making some art we are actually proud of rather than the release tour festivals repeat cycle we’d been on since forever. And so we took the files we’d been diligently recording off to Jamaica and spruced them up a bit whilst making a film. The result is the best thing we’ve ever done in my opinion. The reaction when I play it to people is like nothing I’ve seen before, except maybe the first album.”


The Full track listing for Mirrors is:


• Amsterdam

• Black Widow

• Makin’ Babies

• Stuck On You

• The Beach And The Sea

• The Trip

• El Cabrera

• Blue

• Something To Remember

• Mr Glassalfempty

• The Gun

• My Mirror

• Last To Know

• Lay Me Down


Extra tracks on all formats:

• Mr Glassalfempty (Radio Edit)

• The Trip (Radio Edit)

• Makin’ Babies (Radio Edit)

• Mirrors (Overproof Dub by Youth) 23:15


Reverend and the Makers have achieved four UK Top 20 Albums and five Top Five Indie chart singles: debut album The State of Things (2007) included the UK Top Five single Heavyweight Champion Of the World. Second album A French Kiss In The Chaos followed in 2009 and saw the band supporting Oasis on their final tour at stadiums across the UK and also a UK tour with fellow Sheffielders Arctic Monkeys. Their third album @Reverend Makers was released in 2012 and their first for Cooking Vinyl, the fourth album Thirty Two was unleashed in 2014.


Reverend & The Makers are: Jon McClure, Ed Cosens, Joe Carnall , Laura McClure and Ryan Jenkinson.

Previous post
Omaha release new single 'Lifeline'
Next post
(Monday 1pm) Crime Gospel, primitive Blues outfit The Future Shape Of Sound Share Video

Reverend & The Makers Confirm Twelve Date UK Tour