Small Reactions Premieres ‘RXN_002’ Via New Noise Magazine, Listen Now

Small Reactions Premieres ‘RXN_002’ Via New Noise Magazine, Listen Now

Small Reactions

Premieres RXN_002

Via New Noise Magazine, Listen Now


Atlanta nerve pop quartet Small Reactions officially return this Friday, August 4th with RXN_002, their long-awaited sophomore album — but you can stream it today courtesy of New Noise Magazine. Be sure to grab your pre-order here on vinyl, CD, or digital formats.


Noise and melody, volatility and composure, pop music and anything but. Following their debut, Similar Phantoms, and a collection of 7”s, EPs, and mixtapes, the album is their most successful, realized version of “nerve pop” to date.

Small Reactions spent the last several years paring down their music to the most essential elements. By focusing on basic instrumentation, simple structures, and few musical cues besides “loud” and “fast,” songs were easily driven to the tipping point, off the tracks and towards destruction. RXN_002 assesses the wreckage, puts the pieces back together, and starts the journey anew where the band left off, to the darker recesses of human experience. Noisy guitars, relentless drums, and hypnotic, melodic bass are all intact, but the tools for exploration have expanded. The sound is something less monolithic, but more nuanced and complex.

RIYL: Cold War Kids, Preoccupations, Cloud Nothings


Upcoming Tour Dates

8/24 – Atlanta, GA (The Earl)

9/07 – Tampa FL (Rock The Park @ Curtis Hixon Waterfront Park)

9/08 – St. Petersburg, FL (Green Bench Brewing Co.)

9/10 – St Augustine, FL (Sing Out Loud Festival)


In case you missed it, the album’s singles, “Sessions Street” and “Sliding Glass Nightmare”, previously received coverage on Huffington Post, Atwood Magazine, Austin Town Hall, and more.



01 RXN_002
02 Sessions Street (premiered via GoldFlakePaint)
03 Controllerhead
04 Double Vision
05 Fatal Flaws
06 Flagrant
07 Seven Two
08 Sliding Glass Nightmare (premiered via Culture Collide)
09 Alles
10 El Dorado
11 Cowboy Up


Watch Small Reactions‘ official music video for Terrorangles”, taken from their 2014 debut album Similar Phantoms.

Connect with Small Reactions: FacebookTwitterFlickrInstagramYouTube

Previous post
Filthy Friends (Sleater-Kinney, R.E.M.) Release Video, New Album Out 8/25, Tour Dates
Next post
N0 Horses" video by Garbage Out Now

Small Reactions Premieres ‘RXN_002’ Via New Noise Magazine, Listen Now