Solid Sound 2015 Lineup Announced

Solid Sound 2015 Lineup Announced




Easthampton, MA – March 4, 2015 – Chicago rock band Wilco has announced the lineup for this year’s Solid Sound Festival (June 26-28 at MASS MoCA in North Adams, MA). One of the most diverse in the festival’s five-year history, it was revealed via a live 2-hour Facebook event Tuesday evening, which challenged participants to name performers from trivia clues and unidentified song samples.

Wilco’s three-day festival, which takes place in America’s largest contemporary art museum in the Berkshires of north-western MA, gathers up-to-the-minute indie favorites including Mac DeMarco, Parquet Courts, Real Estate, Jessica Pratt, Luluc and Ryley Walker with jazz and world music luminaries including Taj Mahal, King Sunny Adé, Charles Lloyd and Bill Frisell. Also joining are legendary guitarist and songwriter Richard Thompson, the revered and respected NRBQ, rousing rockers The Felice Brothers, hip-hop duo Shabazz Palaces, instrumental guitarist William Tyler, traditionalist Jeff Davis and the Expandable Brass Band.

This year’s comedy lineup, hand-picked by returning host John Hodgman and dubbedJohn Hodgmann’s Big-Time Comedy Thing, welcomes comedians Tig Notaro, Paul F. Tompkins and Jessica Williams.

Keeping with its own tradition, this year’s Solid Sound is packed with unique, off-the-beaten-path programming including the improvised theatrical story-telling troupe Story Pirates, Vermont’s award-winning youth circus Circus Smirkus and more.
Host and festival-creator Wilco performs two headlining concerts (one Friday, one Saturday) and each band-member brings its latest non-Wilco side project to the fest. This list includes Wilco guitarist Nels Cline’s Stained Radiance, an audio/visual collaboration with painter Norton Wisdom; John Stirratt and Patrick Sansone’s The Autumn Defense presenting Spirit of Akasha, a live music and film experience celebrating the classic 1972 surf-film Morning of the Earth; drummer and percussionist Glenn Kotche performing with his newest collaborator, cellist Jeffrey Ziegler (formerly of the Kronos Quartet); and Mikael Jorgensen performing in both a solo audio/visual presentation and with his latest electronic duo, Quindar.

Wilco founder Jeff Tweedy brings his latest endeavor, Tweedy, a collaboration with his 19-year-old son Spencer to the festival’s main stage. Joining Jeff and Spencer in the Tweedy band lineup are musicians Jim Elkington, Darin Gray and Liam Cunningham. Jeff Tweedy will also perform solo as well as welcoming additional guest performers to the stage.

Day-by-day schedules as well as additional programming, kid-friendly events and activities and pop-up performances will be announced in the coming weeks. The festival features a wide array of local and regional artisanal and traditional food, craft beer, specialty coffee and more.

A complete list of confirmed performers follows.

Solid Sound Festival 2015 Confirmed Lineup: (in alphabetical order)


The Autumn Defense presenting Spirit of Akasha, with Windy Hills
Bill Frisell: The Great Flood: Music by Bill Frisell featuring Ron Miles, Tony Scherr & Kenny Wollesen with Film by Bill Morrison

Cibo Matto

The Expandable Brass Band

The Felice Brothers

Glenn Kotche & Jeffrey Zeigler

Jeff Davis

Jessica Pratt

John Hodgman’s Big Time Comedy Thing featuring Tig Notaro, Paul F. Topkins, Jessica Pratt & Superego

King Sunny Adé & His African Beats

Charles Lloyd Quartet


Mac DeMarco

Mikael Jorgensen & Quindar


Parquet Courts

Real Estate

Richard Thompson Trio

Ryley Walker

Shabazz Palaces

Stained Radiance: Nels Cline & Norton Wisdom

Taj Mahal


William Tyler


Previous post
Christine And The Queens, French Female Artist Of The Year, To Make US Live Debut at SXSW
Next post
Reggae collective Backbeat Soundsystem unveil new video, 'Come Undone', ahead of April UK tour

Solid Sound 2015 Lineup Announced