Spook The Herd Announce "The Small Wins EP" + Share "Slurpee Surf"

Spook The Herd Announce "The Small Wins EP" + Share "Slurpee Surf"

Spook The Herd Announce “The Small Wins EP”

Due Out June 17th via Exploding In Sound Records

Share Summer Anthem “Slurpee Surf” with Consequence of Sound

photo credit: Jesse Weiss


Spook The Herd are excited to announce the release of The Small Wins EP, the band’s first release together with Exploding In Sound Records. Set for release on June 17th, the duo of Jesse Weiss (Palehound, Grass Is Green) and Abe Kimball (Vending Machetes) have created an album of sludgy summer pop anthems, a collection of six big infectious rock songs that are, dare we say it… undeniably fun. Joined by friends from Palehound (Ellen Kempner and David Khoshtinat), Ovlov (Theo Hartlett and Morgan Luzzi), Stove/Jackal Onasis (Alex Molini), and beyond, the Boston based duo have poured their hearts into this record and its fuzzy parade of endless hooks.
The follow up to last year’s split cassette with Hellrazor (members of Speedy Ortiz), Spook The Herd have been steadily writing and recording whenever their busy schedules allow. While Weiss is well known for being a heavily in-demand drummer, The Small Wins EP allows him a chance to evolve his talents as a songwriter, guitarist, and bassist and the results are fantastic in its bubblegum pop splendor.
Consequence of Sound are premiering the band’s new single “Slurpee Surf,” calling it the work of “a duo whose combined talents lead to songs that fall right in the middle of the spectrum between sugar and fuzz. Take their new single “Slurpee Surf”, for example. If the track’s title instantly conjures images of pop rock (both the candy and the genre) and surf tunes, well, then it’s doing its damn job.”


06/16 – Boston, MA @ Ol’ Yeller w/ Pope & Young Jesus
Spook the Herd is a Boston-based rock band, and the brainchild of Jesse Weiss and Abe Kimball. As decade-long friends and former bandmates, STH began with a desire to form a collaborative recording project free from the stresses of extensive touring. After releasing a single, a three-song EP, and playing a handful of shows with Theo Hartlett and Morgan Luzzi of Ovlov rounding out the live lineup, Spook The Herd began working on a more expansive collection of songs. Thus came The Small Wins EP.
Initially just a concept, Weiss wrote and recorded five of the six tracks, instrumentally, before passing them over to Kimball to write melodies and lyrics. Containing several guest appearances, and a musical vibe different than the group had ever previously expressed, the EP captures a wide variety of feelings and emotions. Targeting a bubble-gum pop melodic approach to contrast the gritty guitars, The Small Wins EP is a step in the future direction of the band. The group plans on performing more shows this summer to support the subsequent release, and has already laid the foundations of a sibling record entitled The Minor Tweaks EP. While never stopping to compromise their musical ideas, or fit the mold of any one genre, Spook the Herd looks forward to continually recording and releasing new music.


The Small Wins EP is due out June 17th via Exploding In Sound Records. Digital copies of the EP are available for review consideration. Please email dan@brixtonagency.com. The band is available for interviews upon request.

“The Small WIns EP”
Exploding In Sound Records
June 24, 2016

1. Slurpee Surf
2. One Fell Swoop
3. Beg To Differ
4. Song 4
5. App Tofu
6. Running In Place

Spook The Herd Links:
Exploding In Sound Records

Previous post
Mt. Doubt confirmed for T in the Park
Next post
Junk Son Unveils ‘Crawl’ From New EP

Spook The Herd Announce "The Small Wins EP" + Share "Slurpee Surf"