Tame Impala To Release ‘Lonerism’ 8th October In UK. EU Tour dates

Tame Impala To Release ‘Lonerism’ 8th October In UK. EU Tour dates

Download ‘Apocalypse Dreams’, take part in ‘Lonerism’ competition

‘Lonerism’, the forthcoming album from critically acclaimed Perth-based band Tame Impala, will be released in the UK on 8th October 2012 via Modular Recordings.

Following on the release of album track ‘Apocalypse Dreams’ earlier this week, we are pleased to share with you the 12-song tracklist and album art. The art was co-created by Tame Impala frontman Kevin Parker and previous artistic collaborator Leif Podhajsky.

Tame Impala are also giving fans the chance to choose their own Lonerism adventure. They’re asking for your suggestions for the ‘Lonerism’ deluxe edition and if your idea is awesome, it may just end up as part of the package. You have until Friday 3rd August to make your suggestions, more info here: http://modularpeople.com/pages/lonerismdeluxe/

Pre-order the ‘Lonerism’ vinyl via The Mod Shop, or cd and vinyl from Recordstore and Rough Trade.

1.  Be Above It
2.  Endors Toi
3.  Apocalypse Dreams
4.  Mind Mischief
5.  Music To Walk Home By
6.  Why Won’t They Talk To Me?
7.  Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
8.  Keep On Lying
9.  Elephant
10. She Just Won’t Believe Me
11. Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control
12. Sun’s Coming Up

Grab your free download of ‘Apocalypse Dreams’ here.

Watch the album teaser:


Again recorded and produced almost entirely by Kevin Parker in studios, planes, hotels and homes around the world, and mixed by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips / MGMT), ‘Lonerism’’s sound is not so much reinvented as completely redrafted and stretched way, way out. It’s a quantum leap forward for the band, the seeds of which were sown shortly after their debut album ‘Innerspeaker’ was mixed.

Featuring twelve new songs, ‘Lonerism’’s most apparent advance is in its synthesizers – there’s swathes of them cutting melancosmic shapes across almost every track. There’s still the searing guitar lines, bouldering drums, free bass and of course Parker’s voice, but now there’s heavily mournful pads and sunshine lead lines from an army of analogue explorers in the mix.

‘Lonerism’ follows on from their 2010 ‘Innerspeaker’ debut which was welcomed by fans the world over and won Tame Impala many critical nods including both Rolling Stone Australia and Triple J’s Album Of The Year, a top 50 placing in the Best of 2010 lists of Pitchfork and Stereogum, as well as a touring schedule with highlights such as Coachella, Glastonbury, Big Day Out, Roskilde, Summersonic and T In The Park.

Tame Impala will be touring throughout Europe and the US later this year. Upcoming EU/UK dates are as follows:

Sun 14 Oct. Cologne, Germany – Gebaude 9
Mon 15 Oct. Paris, France – Bataclan
Tue 16 Oct. Brussels, Belgium – Ancienne Belgique
Wed 17 Oct. Hamburg, Germany – Gruenspan
Fri 19 Oct. Oslo, Norway – Rockefeller
Sat 20 Oct, Stockholm, Sweden – Debaser
Mon 22 Oct. Copenhagen, Denmark – Vega
Tue 23 Oct. Berlin, Germany – Postbahnhof
Thu 25 Oct. Vienna, Austria – Fluc
Fri 26 Oct. Milan, Italy – Magazzini Generali
Sat 27 Oct. Lausanne, Switzerland – Les Docks
Mon 29 Oct. Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso
Tue 30 Oct. London, UK – Brixton Academy – get tickets
Thu 01 Nov. Manchester, UK – Ritz – get tickets
Fri 02 Nov. Sheffield, UK – Leadmill – get tickets
Sat 03 Nov. Glasgow, UK – ABC – get tickets



Previous post
Mott The Hoople’s Ian Hunter reveals 20th studio album; When I’m President
Next post
The Spring Standards release Heavy Home

Tame Impala To Release ‘Lonerism’ 8th October In UK. EU Tour dates