Temples Announce the details of Sun Restructured – Deluxe album edition and U.K. tour

Temples Announce the details of Sun Restructured – Deluxe album edition and U.K. tour

The debut album from this four-piece from Kettering is a great record4/5 The Times

A dreamy head-trip 4/5 Metro

The full psych-package 8/10 NME

Tremendous stuff – 8/10 Uncut

Temples have announced details of Sun Restructured, a ‘re-animation’ of their much-acclaimed debut album, Sun Structures, by Beyond the Wizards Sleeve (Erol Alkan & Richard Norris) which is released on Heavenly Recordings on Monday November 10th 2014.


Taking the original record as their guide, Beyond The Wizards Sleeve have created a kaleidoscopic trip that redefines and takes the original into new, twisted sonic spaces. Using five re-interpreted tracks (Sand Dance, Shelter Song, A Question Isn’t Answered, Golden Throne & Move With The Season) from the original album to form the spine of the record, the 42-minute journey is interwoven with tweaked and warped  snatches of other tracks from Sun Structures.


Describing the record, Erol Alkan said: “Being asked to re-animate a whole album’s worth of material is an honour. We (in return) wanted to create something special. A record which could be listened to in one go, from start to finish, a listening experience that is becoming increasingly rare. So as well as a host of full Beyond The Wizards Sleeve re-animations here, there are interludes, ambience, ebb and flow…each section flowing int a bigger piece. We tried many things along the way: spoken word sections, days out collecting field recordings, yet ended up letting the original songs and their beautiful arrangements and melodies guide us. There is so much happening under the surface of Sun Structures,and deep within each track, it was a pleasure to dive in and see what we could find. it inspired us to pick up our guitars, plug in our synthesisers and add some wizardry on top. Enjoy this trip. And it is a trip.”


Sun Restructured will be available as part of a deluxe CD and download re-issue package with the original album.


Sun Structures, which is Rough Trade Shops best selling album of the year and one of the best selling vinyl releases of 2014 so far, was initially released in February.  The 12-track album, self-produced by the band’s James Bagshaw and mixed by Claudius Mittendorfer, has been a massive world-wide success, proving a huge international hit; in Japan the record became a top-3 fixture in the international chart.


The start of the year saw the band appear as part of the NME Awards Tour alongside Interpol as well as play their own headline UK tour which culminated in a euphoric sold-out show at London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire.


More recently the band have played in Japan and Australia, appeared at Reading / Leeds, Glastonbury, Field Day and Latitude festivals in the UK and have just returned from a run of sold-out American shows. They play a number of European festivals and head back to the UK in late summer to appear at End of the Road and Bestival before they head out in November / December for their biggest UK headline tour to date.



Their list of UK shows is as follows:



29th                  Salisbury                                            End of the Road Festival



4th                    Isle of Wight                                      Bestival



29th                  Bristol                                                 Trinity Centre

30th                  Brighton                                             Concorde 2



1st                    Norwich                                             Waterfront

3rd                    London                                              The Forum

4th                    Sheffield                                            Leadmill

6th                    Manchester                                      The Ritz

8th                    Edinburgh                                          Liquid Room

9th                    Aberdeen                                         Lemon Tree

10th                  Glasgow                                            The Arches

11th                  Newcastle                                        Riverside


Tickets for the UK headline tour are available from 9am Friday 29th August 2014 priced at £12 (Sheffield, Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Glasgow & Newcastle), £12.50 (Bristol, Brighton, Norwich and Manchester) and £15 (London) via www.gigsandtours..com and www.gigsinscotland.com(Edinburgh, Glasgow and Aberdeen).


Temples are: James Bagshaw (vocals & guitar), Tom Warmsley (bass & backing vocals), Sam Toms (drums) & Adam Smith (keys).

Previous post
Johnny Thunders - Mick Rock - Rock N' Roll Relics
Next post
After The End by Merchandise - New Album - Out Now

Temples Announce the details of Sun Restructured – Deluxe album edition and U.K. tour