The Dig To release Midnight Flowers On May 29

The Dig To release Midnight Flowers On May 29

“Nearly every song title on The Dig’s newest record, "Midnight Flowers," carries with it the same intriguing sentiment – one that speaks of a light that is burning out and coming from a place that really cannot afford to lose the light or the warmth that it brings. There are allusions to all things tender getting roughed and calloused up. While still able to feel the dominant sensation of there being an incredible amount of uphill climbing that needs to be done, or an incredible amount of compromise to affect the conflicts that are at play.” – Daytrotter.
    Hear The Dig’s “Animal Screams”, “Black Water”, “Hole In My Heart” and “I Already Forgot Everything You Said” live at Daytrotter HERE.
    You can catch them practicing their hearts out in this newly released video HERE.
    The band will release their new album Midnight Flowers on May 29th via Buffalo Jump Records. In celebration, they’re hosting three record release shows in DC, NYC, and Chicago. In July they will move to Los Angeles by popular demand and return for a residency at Silverlake Lounge after playing their successful shows with Ben Kweller last month. (see all dates below). The band is proud to lend their single to Turn the Tide: Songs for "Last Call at the Oasis" a companion chartity album to the new film Last Call at the Oasis in support of the global water crisis alongside 20 unreleased exclusive tracks from artists including Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds, Alabama Shakes, My Morning Jacket and more.

“I Already Forgot Everything You Said” #1 on Hype Machine below:

The Dig’s sound has been developing ever since the band’s two singers Emile Mosseri and David Baldwin started making music together when they were eleven years old.  After meeting California native Erick Eiser, the three songwriters have been writing tunes and playing in different bands since they were 16 years old.Anchored by sharp guitars, a woozy synth backdrop and airtight vocal harmonies, the new album Midnight Flowers which is produced by Bryce Goggin (Pavement, The Apples In Stereo, Swans, Antony & The Johnsons) will come out on 5/29 on Buffalo Jump Records. It recalls styles ranging from T. Rex to Brian Eno to The Everly Brothers.
    Leading up to the release of Midnight Flowers, The Dig have pressed a limited number of cassette tapes containing the album’s first two singles, "Red Rose In The Cold Winter Ground" and "I Already Forgot Everything You Said."  "Even though it takes us about 15 minutes to make each individual cassette, which is done using an old boom box in the back of our van between shows, we like the idea of having the songs that we recorded using analog tape machines available on cassette.  For any of our fans that have moved on from 1995, each cassette comes with a digital download."
    Following their acclaimed 2010 debut, Electric Toys, The Dig amassed a passionate national following with magnetic live performances touring with the likes of Portugal. The Man, The Antlers, and The Walkmen. The band began writing new songs on the road and back home in New York between tours. The new songs reflect a rich sense of lyricism in "Red Rose in the Cold Winter Ground" and "Glass Horse" while thrumming with a charged pop sensibility in "All Tied Up" and "Break the Silence."  When we were writing "I Already Forgot Everything You Said," guitarist and vocalist David Baldwin recalls, "We had just gotten off the road with The Antlers and we were listening to a lot of Bob Dylan’s Time Out of Mind.  I think those influences found their way into that song particularly. But really the songs on this album are personal."


The Dig are:
David Baldwin (Guitar/Vocals)
Emile Mosseri (Bass/Vocals)
Erick Eiser (Keyboards/Guitar)
Mark Demiglio (Drums)
The Dig live:
    5/25: Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands (TICKETS – include free copy of album)
    5/31: Chicago, IL @ Schubas (TICKETS – include free copy of album)

    6/16: Philadelphia, PA @ North Star Bar
    7/04: Los Angeles, CA @ Silverlake Lounge (free)
    7/11: Los Angeles, CA @ Silverlake Lounge (free)
    7/18: Los Angeles, CA @ Silverlake Lounge (free)
    7/25: Los Angeles, CA @ Silverlake Lounge (free)


The Dig – Midnight Flowers track listing:
    01. Red Rose in the Cold Winter Ground
    02. Black Water
    03. I Already Forgot Everything You Said
    04. All Tied Up
    05. Hole In My Heart
    06. Animal Screams
    07. Break The Silence
    08. Police Car
    09. Clouds and The White Noise
    10. Glass Horse 
iTunes pre-sale
The Dig TopSpin store

Previous post
Suis La Lune Return With ‘Riala’
Next post
blink-182 2nd intimate London UK show added

The Dig To release Midnight Flowers On May 29