The Leaf Library Premiere New Single "Asleep Between Stations"

The Leaf Library Premiere New Single "Asleep Between Stations"

Reveal new digital single “Asleep Between Stations” out on 11 December

New album Daylight Versions out now via wiaiwya

Listen to “Asleep Between Stations” below


22 November – The Lexington, London – ALBUM LAUNCH Headline show

“Asleep Between Stations” is the new single to taken from The Leaf Library’s debut album Daylight Versions out now on wiaiwya. The track started life as an ode to falling asleep on trains but could just as well be about drifting off to the buzz and static of radio waves over the North Sea. The song is underpinned by heavy pedal steel drones and joyful sax lines heavily indebted to Colin Stetson’s work with Arcade Fire.

“Asleep Between Stations” by The Leaf Library

Songwriter and guitarist Matt Ashton says of the track; “Asleep Between Stations is the sound of slowly waking on the morning commute as the day and edges of the city spread out before you. The lyrics talk about the repetition and momentum of daily life, the inventory of the places around us and how it’s ok to sometimes leave them behind, slipping our moorings into sleep or dolefulness. The light that wakes us is whatever you want it to be! “
Daylight Versions is the debut full-length album from London quintet The Leaf Library, due out on 30 October via wiaiwya. The record is full of wonderfully woozy, drone-pop tunes about meteorology, the seasons and the incoming sea; from songs about the ghostly Suffolk coastline to the slowly rising waters of London marshes, these ten tracks channel the warm fuzz of Yo La Tengo, the spacious repetition of Talk Talk and Movietone’s seaside melancholy to beautiful effect.
Much of Daylight Versions was recorded at Studio Klank in North London with Simon Nelson (Cosines). Musically, Daylight Versions is a shift away from the Stereolab and Electrelane influenced buzz and drone of the previous couple of singles. The album generally has a more contemplative, nocturnal feel, with songs that gradually unfurl over a greater length of time. There are more horns, strings and piano, plus lots more synths and drones.
Lyrically the album shifts the focus away from the cities and buildings of their early work and towards the outdoors, the coast, the weather and the sea, with recurring themes of water and flooding as well as the seasons. Inspired by the countryside of The Lake District and coastal Suffolk, The Leaf Library also looked towards English pastoral literature, such as Rings of Saturn by WG Sebald and The Old Ways by Robert Macfarlane, as well as sharing themes of place and home with PJ Harvey’s Let England Shake.
The Leaf Library consists of guitarist and songwriter Matt Ashton (previously of John Peel favourites Saloon), Kate Gibson on vocals, bassist Gareth Jones (from Wintergreen), guitarist Ben Smith and Lewis Young on drums.
The band brought in a host of guests to help fulfill their musical vision including Steven James Adams, Rob Smoughton from Hot Chip, Alison Cotton and Mark Nicholas from The Left Outsides, Daniel Fordham andDavid Stewart from The Drink, as well as Alasdair Maclean from The Clientele and Amor de Dias.
The Leaf Library have produced an album full of uneasy beauty. Graceful yet grandiose, Daylight Versions captures the feeling of living amongst England’s eccentric weather, of being on a small island floating in the North Sea, as it slowly disappears beneath the waves.

Previous post
Eddie Paul's debut album, PANDA-MONIUM, is set for release + 'Hands In My Pocket' video
Next post
Tyler Lyle supporting David Ryan Harris

The Leaf Library Premiere New Single "Asleep Between Stations"