ULTRAS self-titled debut album out now!

ULTRAS self-titled debut album out now!

ULTRAS self-titled debut album out now!

For fans of… Jimmy LaVelle, Miaoux Miaoux, East India Youth, Arab Strap

“…a fusion of colours, tones, and textures that builds up towards something gently emphatic.”


“…full of impassioned, strained vocals…”

The Skinny

“…a richly textured collision of styles which fuses into a generally gorgeous listen.”

The List

Glasgow’s ULTRAS have today released their self-tiled debut album via Hello Thor Records and Instinctive Racoon. The album is available to buy on iTunes and stream on Spotify.

The brain child of multi-instrumentalist Gav Prentice ULTRAS exhibit wide ranging influences taking in elements of hip-hop and electronica to rock, pop and traditional Scottish folk music, styles that could be heard ahead of the release through Tenement TV‘s exclusive stream. This built upon an already impressive list of coverage ranging from Gideon Coe‘s BBC Radio 6 show to Clash Magazine and The List. The video for recent single release You’ve a Foul Mouth John Barleycorn, a track produced by Miaoux Miaoux’s Julian Corrie, was unveiled on The Skinny and is available to watch via the Hello Thor YouTube channel.


This followed the stream premiere on Gigslutz, who described it as “a racing, energy-fuelled electro-indie anthem.”. Stream the track now via the ABoF Soundcloud page.

Previous single Napoleon, a track illustrating ULTRAS versatility as composers, was also recently picked up for airplay by BBC Radio 6‘s Steve Lamacq and the track is free to stream via the ULTRAS Soundcloud page.

ULTRAS’ eclectic take on modern pop music is as challenging as it is rewarding; a twelve track record that confronts the listener sonically and lyrically, resulting in the creation of a sound that has the ability to reach euphoric highs as well as melancholic lows.

Started on the back of the break of up of his former band, cult pop act Over the Wall, ULTRAS set about making a record with the help of six separate producers, an approach heavily inspired by Gav’s love of hip-hop mixtapes. This bold approach has helped to build a sound full of diversity, from the aforementioned You’ve a Foul Mouth John Barleycorn to the warm, emotional, mournful lament on Team Handed, which premiered on Clash and sees Gav reunited with former Over the Wall partner Ben Hillman. Odd-pop maestro Jonnie Common oversaw the chopped up samples and bass of Stepping Out, while on This Is Where I Fall and The Path To Getting Paid, we are hit with the big, alternative rock sounds and tight rhythms produced by Joe Cormack, renowned for his work with Pictish Trail. Here, ULTRAS have created a cacophony of rich soundscapes, emotionally demanding your attention throughout due to its rousing, passionate and, at times, witty take on modern life and culture.

Describing the project as “violent pop for the patronised” the ULTRAS live act sees Prentice (beats, guitar, keyboard, vocals), joined by Matt Clark (guitar, bass) and Roy Mohan Shearer (drums, keyboard). The project has already gained support from a number of notable music industry figures with coverage coming from Simon Raymonde and Jim Gellatly on Amazing Radio, Tom Robinson’s BBC Radio 6 show, Vic Galloway on BBC Radio Scotland as well as Goldflakepaint, Song by Toad and Podcart. ULTRAS are currently arranging a tour for May 2017, following on from their successful appearances at The Great Escape and Wickerman festival as well as supporting the likes of We Were Promised Jetpacks and Admiral Fallow.


ULTRAS self-titled album is out now  via Hello Thor Records and Instinctive Racoon. and is available to buy on iTunes and stream on Spotify.

Previous post
4 months until we're back at Leeds & Reading Festival
Next post
Soundgarden Kicks Off North American Tour Tonight in Tampa, FL

ULTRAS self-titled debut album out now!