YEASAYER – Unveil ‘Gerson’s Whistle’ ahead of ‘Amen + Goodbye’ LP release April 1

YEASAYER – Unveil ‘Gerson’s Whistle’ ahead of ‘Amen + Goodbye’ LP release April 1




“Brooklyn art-rockers return refreshed” – Q magazine

“…excellent set of unusual songs”– Uncut

“…pop music at its finest – slick, shiny, huge sounding and laden with hooks” – Loud & Quiet

“Yeasayer are back to their best” – DIY

“…a return to form” – Crack


Today, YEASAYER share ‘Gerson’s Whistle’, following its debut on Zane Lowe’s Beats1 show.
The track features guest vocals from the legendary folk singer Suzzy Roche of The Roches and is taken from their forthcoming fourth studio album, Amen & Goodbye’, released on 1 April 2016 through Mute.


Listen to ‘Gerson’s Whistle’ here

‘Amen & Goodbye’ is the follow-up to 2012’s ‘Fragrant World’. Moving away from a digital-heavy approach, Yeasayer recorded ‘Amen & Goodbye’ to tape at Outlier Inn Studio in upstate New York, then brought on board Joey Waronker (drummer – Atoms For Peace / Beck) to deconstruct everything in order to make the final document.

The finished album has, as a loose concept, an underlying narrative informed by religion and transcendence, the afterlife and the search for meaning, and the songs stream together like a collection of strange fables from the Bible of some universe that does not yet exist. ‘Amen & Goodbye’ features Yeasayer’s trademark sound without sounding like anything the band has done before.

‘Amen & Goodbye’ gatefold album artwork – a tableau of sculptures, actors and digital images – was created by the renowned artist David Altmejd. In case you missed it, the band released a behind-the-scenes peek at details from Altmejd’s tableau, ending with a final zoom out to reveal the entire mise-en-scène. Watch it here: and listen to Prophecy Gun from the album, along with the music video for “I Am Chemistry” and the previous teasers.


Watch the video for ‘I Am Chemistry’  here


Listen to the single, Silly Me

Yeasayer are touring North America (with Young Magic as support), UK and Europe this May and June, including an intimate sold out show at Oslo in London on Friday 10June ahead of their performance on the main stage at Field Day. A full UK tour is soon to be announced for later in the year. Full dates below:

11 May: USA: Kingston, NY: BSP Kingston

12 May: USA: Portland, ME: Port City Music Hall

13 May: USA: Boston, MA: Paradise Rock Club

14 May: USA: New York, NY: Irving Plaza

16 May: USA: Washington, DC: 9:30 Club

17 May: USA: Philadelphia, PA: Union Transfer

19 May: USA: Asheville, NC: The Orange Peel

20 – 22 May: USA: Atlanta, GA: Shaky Beats Music Festival

21 May: USA: Nashville, TN: Exit/In

22 May: USA: Detroit, MI: The Majestic Theatre

23 May: USA: Chicago, IL: Lincoln Hall

24 May: USA: Minneapolis, MN: First Avenue

27 May: USA: George, WA: Sasquatch Music Festival

28 May: Canada: Vancouver, BC: Imperial Vancouver

29 May: USA: Portland, OR: Wonder Ballroom

31 May: USA: San Francisco, CA: The Fillmore Auditorium

1 June: USA: Los Angeles, CA: The Fonda Theatre

2 June: USA: San Diego, CA: The Observatory North

3 June: USA: Santa Ana, CA: The Observatory

5 June: USA: Dallas, TX: Bulladora Music Festival

10 June: UK: London: Oslo – SOLD OUT

11 June: UK: London: Field Day Festival in Victoria Park, Main Stage

12 June: Belgium: Gent: Handelsbeurs Concertzaal

14 June: Norway: Oslo: Parkteatret

15 June: Norway: Bergen: Bergenfest

17 – 19 June: Denmark: Aarhus: Northside Festival

17 – 19 June: Netherlands: Beekse Bergen, Best Kept Secret Festival

20 June: Switzerland: Lausanne: Les Docks

21 June: Italy: Marina Di Ravenna: Hana Bi

20 – 22 June: Croatia: Zagreb: INmusic Festival

24 June: Germany: Scheessel: Hurricane

25 June: Germany: Neuhausen: Southside

15 July: USA: North Lake Tahoe, CA: Wanderlust Festival

28 July: USA: Chicago, IL: Lollapalooza



Daughters Of Cain

I Am Chemistry

Silly Me

Half Asleep

Dead Sea Scrolls

Prophecy Gun

Computer Canticle 1

Divine Simulacrum

Child Prodigy

Gerson’s Whistle


Cold Night

Amen & Goodbye


Yeasayer are: Chris Keating, Ira Wolf Tuton and Anand Wilder


Amen & Goodbye will be available on CD (CDSTUMM387), Vinyl (STUMM387), Digital (iSTUMM387) and Limited Edition Vinyl (LSTUMM387) on 1 April 2016, and is available to pre-order now.

Pre-order links:

iTunes: Amazon:

Webstore: | |

Previous post
VYNCE tease 'Lust' EP with tropical free download
Next post
Swedish indiepop legends Red Sleeping Beauty announce first new album in 19 years!

YEASAYER – Unveil ‘Gerson’s Whistle’ ahead of ‘Amen + Goodbye’ LP release April 1